The Africa Group extends a warm welcome to Haja Zainab Hawa Bangura

Elise Carreau Africa Group Statements, News and Events, News and Events AGJA

The Africa Group for Justice and Accountability (AGJA) extends a warm welcome to its newest member, Haja Zainab Hawa Bangura. In joining the Group, Ms. Bangura becomes its thirteenth member.

“We are excited and honoured to welcome Ms. Bangura to the Africa Group for Justice and Accountability,” declared AGJA chairperson Hassan Bubacar Jallow. “Her proven track-record, vision, and leadership on issues of justice and accountability, human rights, and sexual and gender-based violence represent a tremendous addition to the Group as it continues to advocate for accountability across the African continent. On behalf of the AGJA, I extend my warmest welcome to Ms. Bangura and look forward to working with her on justice and accountability issues in Africa and beyond.”

Bangura stated that she is looking forward to joining the AGJA and furthering its mandate of advocating for justice and accountability in Africa, particularly in the realm of sexual and gender based violence. “I am very honored to be a part of the great work that is being done by this distinguished group of people in my continent of Africa,” said Bangura. “I see my involvement in the group as an opportunity to continue to work on issues that been the defining cause of my career and my life — the quest for gender justice, which is a tool for better and more responsive governance. It is a force for peace and shared prosperity. I thank the entire AGJA for the great job they have done and continue to do to support justice and accountability in Africa.”

Zainab Bangura has a long and widely acclaimed track-record of speaking out against mass atrocities, corruption, and sexual violence, for which she has been widely recognized and celebrated. From 2012 to 2017, Bangura was the United Nations Special Representative on Sexual Violence in Conflict. Prior to her time at the UN, Bangura was the Minister of Health and Sanitation (2010-2012) and the Minister of Foreign Affairs (2007-2010) of Sierra Leone. Bangura has been awarded numerous prizes for her efforts in the fields of justice, human rights, and the prevention of sexual and gender based violence.

The Africa Group for Justice and Accountability was established to support efforts to strengthen justice and accountability measures in Africa through domestic and regional capacity building, advice and outreach, and enhancing co-operation between Africa and the International Criminal Court. It comprises senior African experts on international criminal law and human rights, including political figures, members of international and domestic tribunals, and human rights advocates:

  • Dapo Akande (Nigeria), Professor of Public International Law, University of Oxford
  • Zainab Bangura (Sierra Leone), Former United Nations Special Representative on Sexual Violence in Conflict
  • Femi Falana (Nigeria), Human rights activist and lawyer
  • Hassan Bubacar Jallow (Gambia), Chief Justice of the Gambia, former Prosecutor at the International Criminal Tribunal for 
Rwanda and International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals
  • Richard Goldstone (South Africa), Former Chief Prosecutor of the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda 
and the former Yugoslavia
  • Tiyanjana Maluwa (Malawi), H. Laddie Montague Chair in Law, Pennsylvania State University School of Law; Former Associate 
Dean for International Affairs, School of Law & Director, School of International Affairs
  • Athaliah Molokomme (Botswana), Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Botswana to Switzerland and the UN Office 
in Geneva, and former Attorney-General of Botswana
  • Betty Kaari Murungi (Kenya), Senior Advisor on Transitional Justice to the Joint Monitoring and evaluation 
commission (JMEC)
  • Mohamed Chande Othman (Tanzania), Former Chief Justice of Tanzania
  • Navi Pillay (South Africa), Former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Catherine Samba-Panza (Central African Republic), Former Transitional President of the Central African Republic
  • Fatiha Serour (Algeria), Director of Serour Associates for Inclusion and Equity
  • Abdul Tejan-Cole (Sierra Leone), Executive Director of the Open Society Initiative for West Africa

Click here for full statement.